October 26, 2001 – Oviedo, Spain — Today, in a special ceremony, partners
of the International Space Station (ISS) were honoured with the 2001 Prince
of Asturias Award for International Cooperation. Mr. Mac Evans, President of
the Canadian Space Agency (CSA), and representatives of the other ISS
partner space agencies, including the United States, Russia, Europe and
Japan, received the award from HRH the Prince of Asturias.

“I am honoured and pleased to receive this award on behalf of the Canadian
Space Agency and as an ISS partner. We are five agencies working together in
assembling the most sophisticated engineering project ever undertaken. The
building of a permanent space laboratory involving such an extensive
collaboration is an unprecedented challenge which we have achieved in an
environment nurturing cooperation, mutual respect and openness”, said Mr.
Mac Evans.

The Prince of Asturias Foundation granted this Award in recognition of the
efforts made “to achieve international cooperation that have been necessary
to turn this enormous orbiting laboratory for scientific research for a
greater understanding of our planet into a reality”.

Canada, the United States, Russia, Japan and Europe are undertaking the
biggest international space project of all time. Once completed, the
450-tonne Space Station will be a world-class research centre providing a
platform for advances in sciences and technology 400 km above the Earth. Its
construction began in orbit in 1998 and successive crews of astronauts from
various countries have been living and working on board since November 2000.

The Prince of Asturias Foundation, whose Honorary President is HRH the
Prince of Asturias, is a non-profit institution whose aims are to
consolidate the ties between the Principality of Asturias and its Prince and
to promote science, technology, art and literature. The Award for
International Cooperation is given “to an individual, group or institution
whose work has contributed in an exemplary and significant way to promote
mutual understanding, progress and brotherhood among nations.” Previous
winners have included Nelson Mandela and F.W. de Kerk, Itzhak Rabin and
Yasser Arafat, and Mikhail Gorbachev.

About the Canadian Space Agency (CSA)

Established in 1989 and situated in Saint-Hubert, Quebec, the Canadian Space
Agency coordinates all aspects of the Canadian Space Program. Through its
Space Knowledge, Applications and Industry Development business line, the
CSA delivers services involving: Earth and the Environment; Space Science;
Human Presence in Space; Satellite Communications; Generic Space
Technologies; Space Qualification Services and Awareness. The Canadian Space
Agency is at the forefront of the development and application of space
knowledge for the benefit of Canadians and humanity.

– 30 –


Carole Duval

Media Relations

Canadian Space Agency

(450) 926-4370