President George W. Bush today announced his intention to nominate four
individuals to serve in his administration and his appointment of one

The President intends to nominate Mark B. McClellan to be a member of
the Council of Economic Advisors.  He is currently an
Associate Professor in the Department of Economics and the Department
of Medicine at Stanford University.  McClellan is an
attending physician at the Stanford University Health Services and the
Director of the Program on Health Outcomes Research at Stanford Medical
School.  He served at the Treasury Department from 1998 to
1999 as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Economic
Policy.  Originally from Austin, Texas, he is a graduate of
the University of Texas at Austin, received his Master’s of Public
Administration from Harvard University, received his M.D. from the
Harvard-MIT Division of Health Science and Technology and earned his
Ph.D. in Economics from MIT.

The President intends to nominate John E. Robson to be President of the
Export Import Bank.  He is presently a Senior Advisor with
the San Francisco based investment-banking firm of Robertson
Stephens.  Robson served under former President Bush as
Deputy Secretary of the Treasury and was Dean and a Professor of
Management at the Emory University School of Business from 1986 to
1988.  He served as Chairman of the U.S. Civil Aeronautics
Board from 1975 to 1977 and was Under Secretary of Transportation and
from 1967 to 1969.  He is a graduate of Yale University and
received his J.D. from Harvard Law School.

The President intends to nominate Anna Maria Farias to be Assistant
Secretary of Housing and Urban Development for Fair Housing and Equal
Opportunity.  She is presently a State Commissioner on the
Texas Commission on Human Rights and was most recently the Executive
Director of the Housing Authority of the city of Crystal City,
Texas.  Farias served as a member of the Wage Appeals Board
and Board of Service Contract Appeals within the Department of Labor
from 1992 to 1993 and was Counsel to a member of the National Labor
Relations Board from 1989 to 1992.  A Texas native she is a
graduate of Boston University and Temple University Law School.

The President intends to appoint Earl Floyd Kvamme to be Co-Chair and
Member of the President’s Committee of Advisors on Science and
Technology. He is currently a Partner with the Menlo Park California
firm of Kleiner Perkins Caufield and Byers.  Kvamme was named
Executive Vice President of Sales and Marketing at Apple Computer in
1982 and was part of the original team that started National
Semiconductor and served as General Manager of Semiconductor
Operations.  He is a resident of Saratoga, California, and
holds engineering degrees from the University of California at Berkeley
and Syracuse University.