Observing time at ESO telescopes on Paranal and La Silla is allocated
twice a year in periods of 6 months. Allocation periods run from 1
October through 31 March, and from 1 April through 30 September. The
next deadline for applications (for Period 71, 1 April 2003 – 30
September 2003) is October 1, 2002, before 12:00 noon CEST (12:00
noon, Central European Summer Time). All details and forms are
available at:


Our Department (EPR), in the Office of the Director General at the ESO
Headquarters in Garching near Munich, Germany, now offers a job
opportunity as “Editor (EDG604)”, cf. the vacancy note at:


During the successful commissioning and “paranalization” runs of
NAOS-CONICA (NACO) at the VLT YEPUN telescope (December 2001 through
September 2002), selected astronomical targets were observed to test
the capability and performance of the two instruments. Some of the
data were found to be of a quality which warrants scientific work on
the part of the ESO community. More information about those frames and
how to access them is available via: