ESA has defined a new agreement opening up opportunities for four European
states, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Romania, to participate more
closely in ESA programmes. The aim is to stimulate relations with
interested European countries, to expand the overall European scientific
and industrial base and to enrich ESA as a research and development

In September the Agency held a workshop in Paris with representatives from
the four European Cooperating States (ECS). “The objective of the workshop
was to present the different possibilities existing through this newly
created ECS status and to understand the different views and possible
concerns of our partners in order to proceed, on a bilateral basis, with
the negotiations of the ECS Agreement with each interested country”, says
ESA programme manager, Henk Olthof.

To be a candidate for this new agreement, a country must be European and
must already have signed a Framework Agreement with ESA. The new ECS
Agreement is a bilateral engagement between that country and ESA, and
it allows the partner country to participate indirectly in all ESA
procurements and activities. In each case, the participation is to be
defined in a five-year Plan for European Cooperating State (PECS) to be
jointly agreed by ESA and the country concerned.

Henk Olthof explains, “this new Agreement opens up the possibility to
increase the potential synergy between ESA programmes and the future plans
in the space field for our four European partners, Czech Republic, Hungary,
Poland and Romania. The ECS Agreement better suits their current industrial
and financial capacities than the closer Associate Membership. It creates
a natural extension of the existing very fruitful collaboration and allows
the four countries to participate tin all Agency programmes and enables
ESA to benefit from their expertise”.

ESA first established relations with these countries in the early nineties
when they approached ESA requesting to collaborate in space programmes.
This led to the signing of a framework Agreement with each of the four
countries, which evolved through joint cooperation projects. As a result,
both the Czech Republic and Hungary now participate in the Agency’s
PRODEX(*) optional programme.


The ESA Scientific Experiment Development Programme (PRODEX) began in
June 1986 and is open to Member States and European Cooperating States.
PRODEX comes from the French PROgramme de Developpement d’EXperiences
Scientifiques’. Its main objectives are to:

* improve relations between scientific and industrial circles within
participating states

* provide funding for the industrial development of scientific instruments
or experiments proposed by institutes or universities.

The programme encourages fruitful collaboration between institutes,
universities and industries in the ESA Member States and European
Cooperating States. The number of projects undertaken has grown each
year and an increasing number of experiments developed under PRODEX
collaboration have been flown on space missions.

Related links

* More on PRODEX