WASHINGTON — On the same day that the House Science, Space and Technology Committee held a hearing on NASA’s strategic direction, the committee’s incoming chairman announced the names of the 21 Republicans who will help him oversee the U.S. space program and other science and technology matters when the 113th Congress convenes in January.

Rep. Lamar Smith (R-Texas) is replacing fellow Texan Ralph Hall, who is being forced by a six-year limit on House committee chairmanships to surrender the gavel. In addition to Smith and Hall, the other Republican members of the committee will be:

  • Rep. F. James Sensenbrenner Jr., Wisconsin
  • Rep. Dana Rohrabacher, California
  • Rep. Frank D. Lucas, Oklahoma
  • Rep. Randy Neugebauer, Texas
  • Rep. Michael McCaul, Texas
  • Rep. Paul Broun, Georgia
  • Rep. Scott Rigell, Virginia
  • Rep. Steven Palazzo, Mississippi
  • Rep. Mo Brooks, Alabama
  • Rep. Andy Harris, Maryland
  • Rep. Larry Bucshon, Indiana
  • Rep. Cynthia Lummis, Wyoming
  • Rep. Bill Posey, Florida
  • Rep. David Schweikert, Arizona
  • Rep. Steve Stockman, Texas
  • Rep. Thomas Massie, Kentucky
  • Rep. Jim Bridenstine, Oklahoma
  • Rep. Kevin Cramer, North Dakota
  • Rep. Chris Stewart, Utah
  • Rep. Randy Weber, Texas

Dan Leone is the NASA reporter for SpaceNews, where he also covers other civilian-run U.S. government space programs and a growing number of entrepreneurial space companies. He joined SpaceNews in 2011.Dan earned a bachelor's degree in public communications...