Applications for the second David N. Schramm Award for High Energy
Astrophysics Science Journalism are due on February 1, 2002; articles for
this award must have been published between July 1, 2000 and December 31,
2001. The purpose of this award is to recognize and stimulate
distinguished writing on topics in high energy astrophysics. Schramm was a
distinguished scientist, who is widely regarded as the founder of the field
of Particle Astrophysics, a discipline where cosmology and particle physics
meet. High energy astrophysics incorporates experimental and theoretical
studies of high energy photons and particles from the cosmos, including the
disciplines of x-ray, gamma-ray and cosmic ray astronomy. The award is
sponsored by the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American
Astronomical Society and is presented at least every 18 months.

The winning journalist will receive a prize of $1,000, and a plaque
containing a citation. The publisher of the winning work will receive a
certificate honoring the publication in which the work appeared. HEAD/AAS
will pay the winning author’s personal travel expenses so that the
award can be received in person at the next HEAD meeting, which will be
held April 20-23, 2002 in Albuquerque, NM.

For further information, including the application form and rules for the
application process, see the web site at: or send e-mail to Lynn
Cominsky at the address provided above.

Contact: Prof. Lynn Cominsky

HEAD Press Officer

Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

Sonoma State University

Rohnert Park, CA 94928