November 12, 1999
Doug Peterson
Johnson Space Center
(281) 483-5914

Release: J99-47


The third of several groups of prospective astronauts will be at NASA’s Johnson Space Center (JSC) the week of November 15 for orientation,
interviews, and medical evaluations.

Approximately 120 of over 3,000 applicants will be interviewed by January 2000, for a chance to be among those named as astronaut
candidates. The final selections for the class of 2000 will be announced early next year with the astronaut candidates reporting for duty in the

The third group of twenty includes: Stephen G. Alsing, (Maj., USAF), Huber Heights, Ohio; Dominic A. Antonelli, (Lt., USN), Ridgecrest,
California; Robert L. Behnken, (Capt., USAF), Lancaster, California; Alan R. Carroll, Ph.D., Madison, Wisconsin; Javier de Luis, Ph.D.,
Cambridge, Massachusetts; William A. Ehrenstrom, Houston, Texas; Robert H. Ess, Friendswood, Texas; Kristin A. Farry, Ph.D., Friendswood,
Texas; Lorraine M. Fesq, Ph.D., Cambridge, Massachusetts; Bradley S. Files, Ph.D., Pearland, Texas; Kevin A. Ford, (Lt. Col., USAF),
Lancaster, California; Amanda R. Hendrix, Ph.D., Niwot, Colorado; Smith L.
Johnston, M.D., Houston, Texas; Tobi H. Kosanke, Ph.D., Missouri City, Texas; Michael L. Peoples, (Lt. Cdr., USN), Virginia Beach, Virginia; G.
Dean Peters, (Lt. Cdr., USN), Lexington Park, Maryland; Claudia U. Ranniger, Ph.D., M.D., Silver Spring, Maryland; John D. Russell, Ph.D.,
Bellbrook, Ohio; Steven R. Wright, (Cdr., USN), California, Maryland; and Albert S. Yen, Ph.D., Arcadia, California.

Astronaut candidate selections are conducted approximately every two years with the number of candidates selected depending on Space Shuttle
flight rates, Space Station requirements, overall program requirements and astronaut attrition rates.