Posted inCommercial

Extended: SpaceNews Awards reader nominations close Sept. 30

The 2nd annual SpaceNews Awards for Excellence & Innovation honor excellence and innovation among space professionals, companies, programs and organizations during the previous 12 months. We are seeking nominations for the following awards:

  • Company of the Year
  • Government Agency of the Year
  • Corporate Leader of the Year
  • Government Leader of the Year
  • Unsung Hero of the Year
  • Startup of the Year
  • Turnaround of the Year
  • Breakthrough of the Year
  • Deal of the Year

Submit Your Nominations by Sept. 30.

To submit multiple nominations, just return to this page and click the link above again.

Selection Process

Beginning Sept. 1: Readers submit nominations for nine awards categories.

Mid-September to Mid-October:  SpaceNews’ panel of judges select finalists from community nominations.

Mid-October to early November: Readers vote on finalists via

Mid-November: Winners will be notified.

Early December:  Winners will be announced in the Dec. 2 issue of SpaceNews magazine and honored at a SpaceNews awards luncheon in Washington, D.C.

 Cobham is the presenting sponsor of the 2018 SpaceNews awards


Additional support from


2017 Winners & Finalists


Company of the Year: SpaceX

Runner up: Planet

Finalists: Arianespace; Maxar Technologies; Nanoracks

Corporate Leader of the Year:  Gwynne Shotwell, SpaceX

Runner up: Jeffrey Manber, Nanoracks

Finalists: Rick Ambrose, Lockheed Martin; Jason Andrews, Andrews Space; Kirk Pysher, ILS

Government Leader of the Year (Military): Gen. John Hyten

Runner up: Brig. Gen. Wayne Monteith, 45th Space Wing

Finalists: Robert Cardillo, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency; Gordon Roesler and the DARPA Robotic Servicing of Geosynchronous Satellites team

Government Leader of the Year 
(Civil): Étienne Schneider

Runner up: George Nield, FAA’s Office of Commercial Space Transportation

Finalists: Jean-Yves Le Gall, CNES; Catherine Mealing-Jones, U.K. Space Agency

Government Agency of the Year: 
45th Space Wing

Runner up: Indian Space Research Organisation

Finalists: FAA’s Office of Commercial Space Transportation, NOAA’s National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service

Deal of the Year:
Maxar Technologies

Runner up: Planet buys Terra Bella

Finalists: Speedcast buys UtilSat; Teledyne buys e2V; Virgin Group lands $1 billion Saudi investment

Breakthrough of the Year: Planet completes Mission 1

Runner up: SpaceX’s reusable Falcon 9 booster

Finalists: Spectrolab’s XTJ Prime solar cell; Lockheed Martin’s SPIDER flat optical instrument; Sodern’s Auriga miniaturized star trackers; Space System Loral’s Ultra High Density Satellite

Startup of the Year:

Runner up: Sky and Space Global

Finalists: LeoLabs; Made In Space; Rocket Lab

Turnaround of the Year:
  International Launch Services

Runner up:  Orbital ATK

Finalists: Alaska Aerospace Corp.; Spacecom; SpaceX

Unsung Hero of the Year: 
Jason Crusan, NASA

Runner up: Frank “Ceppi” Cepollina, NASA

Finalists: R. Gilbert “Gil” Moore, Utah State University; Tom Mueller, SpaceX; Guy Perez, OHB; Eric Rehder, Boeing Spectrolab

Brian Berger is editor in chief of and the SpaceNews magazine. He joined in 1998, spending his first decade with the publication covering NASA. His reporting...