Linda Matthews-Schmidt

Johnson Space Center, Houston, TX


Release: J01-02

The public is invited to share in the excitement of the latest Shuttle
mission to the International Space Station, when the five-member, STS-97
crew discusses its 12-day flight at 6:30 p.m. January 11 at Space Center
Houston. In a special ceremony in Space Center Houstonís IMAX Theater,
the astronauts will receive their NASA Space Flight Medals, and other
space workers will be recognized with awards from Johnson Space Center
Director George W.S. Abbey. The Endeavour crew will narrate a slide show
and video presentation highlighting its mission. During the flight, the
STS-97 crew–Commander Brent W. Jett; Pilot Michael J. Bloomfield; with
Mission Specialists Carlos I. Noriega, Joseph R. Tanner, and Canadian
Space Agency Astronaut Marc Garneau–installed the first set of U.S.
solar arrays, performed three space walks, delivered supplies and
equipment and became the first shuttle crew to visit the stationís first
resident crew. The work performed by the STS-97 crew sets the stage for
the installation of the stationís next major component, the U.S.
Laboratory “Destiny” later this month.

The event, sponsored by NASA’s Johnson Space Center, begins promptly at
6:30 p.m., is free of charge and open to the public. Due to limited
seating and first-come, first-served admission, visitors should plan to
arrive early as Space Center Houston doors open at 6:00 p.m.