NASA and the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) have announced the selection of 17 new Hubble Fellows. STScI in Baltimore, Maryland, administers the Hubble Fellowship Program for NASA.

The Hubble Fellowship Program supports outstanding postdoctoral scientists whose research is broadly related to the mission of NASA’s Cosmic Origins (COR) Program, which examines the origins of galaxies, stars, and planetary systems, and the evolution of these structures with cosmic time. The COR Program consists of a suite of operating science missions that includes the Herschel Space Observatory, the Hubble Space Telescope (HST), the James Webb Space Telescope, the Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA), and the Spitzer Space Telescope, and possible future missions that focus on specific aspects of these questions.

Each year, the current Hubble Fellows convene for a three-day symposium to present the results of their recent research and to meet face-to-face with other Hubble Fellows and with the scientific and administrative staff who manage the program. The 2016 symposium was held at STScI on March 14-16.

“Hubble Fellows are the future leaders of our field, and these prestigious fellowships give them a wonderful opportunity to grow professionally and establish their credentials. This impressive class of Fellows will surely make major contributions to astronomical research for years to come. Congratulations to all of them,” said Ken Sembach, STScI director.

The new Hubble Fellows will begin their programs in the fall of 2016 and are listed here in alphabetical order with their Ph.D. and host institutions:
* Brendan Bowler; University of Hawaii; University of Texas at Austin
* Zheng Cai; Steward Observatory, University of Arizona; UCO/Lick Observatory, University of California
* Emmanouil Chatzopoulos; University of Texas at Austin; University of Arizona
* Diana Dragomir; University of British Columbia; Massachusetts Institute of Technology
* Maria Drout; Harvard University; Carnegie Observatories
* Jean-Baptiste Fouvry; Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France; Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton
* Sean Johnson; University of Chicago; Princeton University
* Michael McCourt; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, Santa Barbara
* Anne Medling; University of California, Santa Cruz; California Institute of Technology
* Maxwell Millar-Blanchaer; University of Toronto; Jet Propulsion Laboratory
* Marcel Sven Pawlowski; University of Bonn, Germany; University of California, Irvine
* Paola Pinilla; Heidelberg University; University of Arizona
* Sarah Sadavoy; University of Victoria; Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
* Josiah Schwab; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, Santa Cruz
* Daniel Scolnic; Johns Hopkins University; University of Chicago
* Paul Torrey; Harvard University; Massachusetts Institute of Technology
* Jennifer Yee; Ohio State University; Harvard University

STScI is the science operations center for the Hubble Space Telescope and the science and mission operations center for the James Webb Space Telescope, scheduled for launch in 2018. STScI is operated for NASA by the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy, in Washington, D.C.

NASA has two other astrophysics theme-based fellowship programs: the Sagan Fellowship Program, which supports research in exoplanet exploration; and the Einstein Fellowship Program, which supports research into the physics of the cosmos.