The American Geophysical Union seeks nominations for two
annual journalism awards: the Walter Sullivan Award for
Excellence in Science Journalism – Features and the David
Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism – News.
These awards consist of a plaque and a $2,000 stipend and will be
presented at the 2003 Joint Assembly (in Nice, France) or Fall
Meeting (in San Francisco, California).

These awards recognize work that enhances public awareness and
understanding of the sciences encompassed by AGU: the study of
the Earth, the Sun, the solar system, and their environments and
components. The Perlman Award is for work produced under
deadline pressure of one week or less, while the Sullivan Award is
for work produced with longer lead time. Work in any medium,
except books, is eligible, as long as it was intended for and
available to the general public. Work from any country and in any
language is eligible. (Entries not originally in English must include
an English translation.)

The rules in effect for the 2002 awards remain valid for 2003, aside
from eligibility and submission deadline dates. For the
2003 awards, entries must first have been published between
December 16, 2001, and December 15, 2002. Entries must be
received at AGU no later than December 31, 2002.

The only authoritative statement of all relevant rules is on the AGU
Web site at A
nomination form and list of previous winners of these awards may
also be accessed from that page. Questions should be directed to
Harvey Leifert (see above).

Contact: Harvey Leifert

(202) 777-7507