Foundation officials today announced additional
speakers for the International Space Symposium
scheduled for October 24-26, 2000 at the Reagan
Center in Washington, DC.

The event focuses on business aspects of the
$100 billion (US) global space industry.

Joining previously announced speakers including
European Space Agency Director General Antonio
Rodota; Vance Coffman, chairman and CEO of
Lockheed Martin, and Yasuo Otaki, president of
the Asia-Pacific Satellite Communications
Council and president of TELEC-Japan are:

– Michael Storey, President and CEO, Inmarsat

– Zhang Xinxia, President, China Great Wall
Industry Corporation

– Subash Chandra, Chairman, ESSEL

– Peter Jackson, Chief Executive Officer, AsiaSat

– Takuya Yoshida, President and CEO, JSAT

– Prof. Martin Sweeting, Managing Director and
CEO, Surrey Space

– Larry Knauer, President, Space and Russian
Programs, Pratt and Whitney Space Propulsion

– Dr. Tania Maria Sausen, Director of Space
Education, Brazilian National Space Research
Institute (INPE)

– Dan Dubno, Producer and Technologist, CBS News

– Dr. Hung-Chih Wang, Director, National Space
Program Office of Taiwan

– Gilbert Rye, President and CEO, Orbimage

– Ken Medlin, Vice President and General
Manager, Commercial Information Systems, Boeing
Space and Communications Group

– John Hoffman, President and CEO, Terraserver

– Paul Graziani, President and CEO, Analytical

Hugh Downs, veteran ABC News personality and
Chairman of the Board of Governors of the
National Space Society, has confirmed his
participation as Master of Ceremonies for the
Symposium’s Future Watch Luncheon. Dr. Michael
Hawley, Dreyfoos Professor of Media Technology
at MIT Labs, will be the featured luncheon

Leading space agencies, organizations and
companies from around the world are joining the
Space Foundation in supporting and sponsoring
the Symposium.

Numerous chief executive officers and heads of
agency will also address the Symposium
including: Dr. Achim Bachem, Executive Board,
German Space Agency (DLR); Alain Bensoussan,
president of the French National Space Agency
(CNES) and president of the ESA Council;
Guiliano Beretta, director-general, Eutelsat;
Armand Carlier, chairman and CEO, Astrium; Lou
Dobbs, chairman,; William “Mac” Evans,
president, Canadian Space Agency; Dr. Colin
Hicks, director general, British National Space
Centre; Prof. Sergio DeJulio, president, Italian
Space Agency; Dr. K. Kasturirangan, chairman,
Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO); Conny
Kullman, director general and CEO, Intelsat; Dr.
Furuhama, executive director of the National
Space Development Agency of Japan; Dr. Bruce
Middleton, principal Asia-Pacific Aerospace
Consultants Pty .Ltd; and Al Smith, executive
vice president, Lockheed Martin Space Systems.

Preliminary program information, participating
agencies, supporting organizations, secure on-
line registration and symposium exhibit and
sponsorship information may be found at or by calling the Space
Foundation at (US) 719-576-8000 or toll free in
the US and Canada at 1-800-691-4000.

(Event not affiliated or otherwise associated
with Space News).