WHAT: Press Conference on the introduction of the National Science Foundation Authorization Act of 2002

WHEN: Tuesday, May 7, 2002 – 4:00 P.M.

WHERE: 2318 Rayburn House Office Building

Members of the House Science Committee will introduce legislation tomorrow to place the National Science Foundation (NSF) on a track to double the agency’s budget in five years. The bill authorizes a 15 percent increase for NSF for each of the next three years.

Members expected to attend include:

  • Science Committee Chairman Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)
  • Science Committee Ranking Member Ralph M. Hall (D-TX)
  • Research Subcommittee Chairman Nick Smith (R-MI)
  • Research Subcommittee Ranking Member Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
  • Environment, Technology, and Standards Chairman Vernon Ehlers (R-MI)
  • Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX)
  • Rep. Constance Morella (R-MD)

Members of the academic and industry communities will also be available to answer questions on the bill.