WASHINGTON, DC – House Science Committee Chairman Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)
today announced chairmen for the Committee’s subcommittees.

Representative Roscoe Bartlett (R-MD) will take over the helm at the
Subcommittee on Energy. Prior to his service in Congress, Bartlett, who has
both a Master’s and Ph.D. in physiology, was a research scientist and
professor. He has been an inventor, and worked on the team that contributed
to the successful moon landing, and started a successful research and
development business.

The newly formed Subcommittee on Environment, Technology, and Standards will
be chaired by Rep. Vernon J. Ehlers (R-MI). Ehlers was the first research
physicist elected to Congress and has served as the Science Committee’s
Vice-Chairman for four years. His expertise was also called upon in the
105th Congress to rewrite the nation’s science policy in the report,
“Unlocking Our Future: Toward a New National Science Policy.”

Rep. Nick Smith (R-MI) returns as the chair of the Subcommittee on Research
(formerly known as the Subcommittee on Basic Research). Smith, who begins
his second term as chair, is a farmer and has spent much of his career
devoted to budget and agriculture issues.

Space and Aeronautics Subcommittee Chairman Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA) retains
the gavel that he has held for the past two congresses. Prior to his
election to Congress, Rohrabacher served as a special assistant to President
Reagan and worked as a speechwriter for the President.

Chairman Boehlert (R-NY) expressed great enthusiasm concerning the chairs.
“As any sports fan knows, the best teams are the ones with the right balance
of experienced veterans and promising new additions,” he said. “I am very
delighted that Chairmen Smith and Rohrabacher will remain in their
leadership roles on the committee. Additionally, we have added as chairs
two highly respected scientists in Chairmen Bartlett and Ehlers. I believe
this is a team that will garner respect and generate excitement both in the
Congress and in the scientific community. I look forward to working with
the Chairmen and committee members on an aggressive agenda this Congress.”