Dr. Mary Lynne Dittmar, President and CEO of the Coalition for Deep Space Exploration (Coalition) is pleased to announce the appointment of a new 20-member Board of Advisors. The diverse group of highly qualified, professionals with backgrounds in space development, technology, operations, and science hails from industry, academia, government, not-for profit associations and media. Together they will work closely with Dittmar and the Coalition Board of Directors on the strategy, vision, and outreach of the organization.
“After the Coalition was formally incorporated in December 2016, one of our next goals was to create a Board of Advisors who could effectively support the organization in its quest to ensure the United States remains a leader in space exploration, science, technology and commerce,” Dittmar said. “We are fortunate to have found a dynamic team of individuals who bring unique perspectives and broad range of talent and skills to the table. I look forward to working with them as we focus our efforts over the next year to support NASA’s programs as well as our members, and to continue advancing human exploration, scientific inquiry and the development of space.”
The Board is comprised of representatives from industry, science and technology communities.  Additional members may be added over time. The Advisors are:
·       Bill Bastedo, Director, Business Development and Strategy, UTC Aerospace Systems

·       Jeff Bingham, Consultant, Member, National Academies Space Studies Board; Vice Chairman, Virginia Space Flight Authority; Senate Commerce Cmte. (retired)

·       Professor Jack Burns, Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences, University of Colorado and Director, NASA SSERVI Network for Exploration and Space Science

·       Doug Cooke, Consultant, Cooke Concepts and Solutions; NASA (retired)

·       John Couch, Vice President, Futuramic Tool and Engineering Company

·       Professor Dan Dumbacher, Purdue University, Aeronautics and Astronautics Engineering

·       N. Wayne Hale, Director, Human Spaceflight, Special Aerospace Services; NASA (retired)

·       Marc Havican, Chief Story Telling Officer, Space City Films, Houston TX

·       Richard D. Jackson, NASA Flight Director (ret.), NASA Strategic Account Executive, Leidos

·       Dr. Thomas Jones, Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition. Planetary Scientist, NASA Astronaut (retired)

·       Wendy Lawrence, NASA Astronaut (retired)

·       Frank Martin, Consultant; NASA (retired); Lockheed Martin (retired)

·       Sophia Porter, Physics and Applied Mathematics/Statistics at Johns Hopkins University (undergraduate)

·       Lon Rains, Communications Director, Space Systems Division, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems

·       Robbie Sabathier, Vice President, Washington Operations and Communications, United Launch Alliance

·       Wanda A. Sigur, Vice President and General Manager, Civil Space, Lockheed Martin Space Systems (retired)

·       Madhurita Sengupta, Program Manager, AIAA

·       Dr. Paul Spudis, Senior Staff Scientist, Lunar and Planetary Institute

·       Dr. Ellen Stofan, Consultant; NASA Chief Scientist (retired)

·       Steven Witkowski, Manager, Civil and NASA Programs, Moog

The Advisors, who will each serve a two-year term, were appointed by the Coalition leadership and approved by the Board of Directors. In addition to advising the Coalition on direction, technical, scientific and industry matters, they will also represent the organization as official speakers.
For full biographies on each member of the CDSE board of advisors, click here.
About the Coalition for Deep Space Exploration
The Coalition for Deep Space Exploration is a national organization of space industry businesses focused on ensuring the United States remains a leader in space exploration, science, technology and commerce. Based in Washington D.C., the Coalition engages in outreach and education reinforcing the value and benefits of human space exploration and space science with the public and our nation’s leaders, building lasting support for a long-term, sustainable, strategic direction for our nation’s space program.