WASHINGTON, D.C., February 1, 2005 – The House Science Committee Republican caucus held its organizational meeting for the 109th Congress tonight and elected chairs of the four subcommittees. At the meeting, Chairman Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY) also introduced the new freshmen Members and welcomed them to the Science Committee.

The Committee reelected Rep. Vernon J. Ehlers (R-MI) as Chairman of the Subcommittee on Environment, Technology, and Standards, and reelected Rep. Judy Biggert (R-IL) as Chairman of the Subcommittee on Energy.

Rep. Ken Calvert (R-CA) was elected Chairman of the Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics, replacing former Chairman Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA), who was term-limited.

Rounding out the Subcommittee Chairmanships, the Committee voted to give the Research Subcommittee gavel to freshman Rep. Bob Inglis (R-SC). Chairman Ingis previously served in the House from 1993-1998. He replaces former Research Subcommittee Chairman Nick Smith (R-MI), who retired at the end of the 108th Congress.

Boehlert also welcomed the new Members who recently joined the Committee. In addition to Inglis, the new Members are Reps. Dave Reichert (R-WA), Mike Sodrel (R-IN), Joe Schwarz (R-MI), and Michael McCaul (R-TX).

The Republican roster for the Full Committee and the subcommittees is attached to this release. The Democratic caucus has not yet appointed its full membership to the Committee.