Washington, DC. The American Astronomical Society announces the slate of its newly elected officers, with their terms of office, as follows:

President (2006-2008) Dr. J. Craig Wheeler (University of Texas- Austin). See a related press release from the University. Dr. Wheeler will serve as President Elect until he assumes office in June 2006, when the current President, Dr. Robert P. Kirshner (Harvard University, Cambridge, MA) will become Past President.

Vice President (2005-2008) Dr. Paul A Vanden Bout (National Radio Astronomy Observatory, Charlottesville, VA)

Treasurer (2005-2008) Dr. Hervey (Peter) Stockman (Space Telescope Science Institute, Baltimore, MD.

Councilors (2005-2008)

Dr. Lee W. Hartmann (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Cambridge, MA)

Dr. Suzanne L. Hawley (University of Washington, Seattle, WA)

Dr. James S. Ulvestad (National Radio Astronomy Observatory, Socorro, NM)

Publications Board Chair (2005-2008) Dr. Michael F. A’Hearn (University of Maryland-College Park)

Nominating Committee Member (2005-2008) Dr. John Bally (University of Colorado-Boulder)

U.S. National Committee for the International Astronomical Union, Category 1, Member Dr. Paul W. Hodge (University of Washington)

“This is both a time of crisis and a time of opportunity for our nation’s astronomers, and I welcome the contributions that our new officers will make,” said Dr. Kirshner.

The American Astronomical Society (AAS), established 1899, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America. The basic objective of the AAS is to promote the advancement of astronomy and closely related branches of science. The membership (~6,500) also includes physicists, mathematicians, geologists, engineers and others whose research interests lie within the broad spectrum of subjects now comprising contemporary astronomy.