The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has announced the 15 winners of its 2021 ASCEND Diversity Scholarships.


Funded through the AIAA Foundation and supported by nearly 30,000 members, AIAA selects university student scholars from underrepresented racial, ethnic, and gender communities in the aerospace industry to attend its forums and events as Diversity Scholars. These scholars represent a diversity of experiences, backgrounds and universities. They will be welcomed as distinguished guests at 2021 ASCEND in person in Las Vegas, 15–17 November, to learn about professional opportunities available to them in the aerospace industry, meet with thought leaders from government, business, and academia, and be immersed in the expansive 2021 ASCEND program. The scholars also receive an AIAA Student Membership if they are not already members.


“AIAA is thrilled to welcome Diversity Scholars to 2021 ASCEND,” said AIAA Executive Director Dan Dumbacher. “These young people bring their enthusiasm and curiosity that enhances the experience for everyone. The Diversity Scholars Program is part of our community’s commitment to prepare the next generation of aerospace leaders and problem-solvers. They will use what they learn today to innovate and invent tomorrow – and we can’t wait to see how they shape the future of aerospace.”


The 2021 ASCEND Diversity Scholars are:


Hali’a Bull, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Prescott, Ariz.)

Tamara Da Silva, University of Texas at El Paso (El Paso, Texas)

Andrea de Fonseca – Illinois Institute of Technology (Chicago, Ill.)

Sophia DeSisto – Georgia Institute of Technology (Atlanta, Ga.)

Babacar Dieng – CUNY New York City College of Technology (New York, N.Y.)

Cosette Geesey – Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University (Blacksburg, Va.)

Junia Janvier – Boston University (Boston, Mass.)

Megan Jordan – University of Alabama in Huntsville (Huntsville, Ala.)

Mach Michaels – Georgia Institute of Technology (Atlanta, Ga.)

Hannah Nabavi – University of California, Berkeley (Berkeley, Calif.)

Judy Park – Purdue University (West Lafayette, Ind.)

Nick Rodriguez – Wichita State University (Wichita, Kan.)

Tiffany Tang – Syracuse University (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Katlynn Vicuna – University of Hawaii at Manoa (Manoa, Hawaii)

Seemi Zameer – Chaffey College (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.)


# # #


Media Contact: Rebecca B. Gray,, 804-397-5270 cell



Powered by AIAA, ASCEND promotes the collaborative, interdisciplinary, outcomes-driven community of professionals, students, and enthusiasts around the world who are accelerating humanity’s progress toward our off-world future! For more information, visit, or follow ASCEND on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, and Instagram.


About AIAA

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 91 countries, and 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow AIAA on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, and Instagram.