Please submit nominations for the American Geophysical Union’s 2010 journalism awards by Friday, 8 January 2010. Award entries must be received at AGU headquarters in Washington, D.C. by that date (which is just over 2 weeks away). Nominations are welcome for:

* The David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism-News, which recognizes excellence in reporting news of scientific advances, generally produced under deadline pressure of one week or less. It is named for David Perlman, Science Editor of the San Francisco Chronicle and 1997 winner of the AGU Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism.

* The Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism-Features, which recognizes excellence in reporting, generally produced with deadlines of longer than one week, that explains the background of scientific discoveries or principles. It is named for Walter Sullivan of The New York Times, first recipient of the award.

Each awards consists of a plaque and a $2,000 stipend, to be presented at an AGU meeting in 2010. Nominations may be submitted for work first published between 1 November 2008 and 31 December 2009 and may be from any country, in any language (English translation required), and in any news medium, except books.

Entries must be received (not postmarked) by 8 January 2010 to be considered for the awards. This deadline has been extended compared to previous years to allow more time for submission of entries, including media coverage of findings unveiled last week in San Francisco, California, at the AGU 2009 Fall Meeting.

The only authoritative statement of the rules governing these awards (and a link to the nomination form) are posted at:

AGU is a worldwide scientific community that advances, through unselfish cooperation in research, the understanding of the Earth and space for the benefit of humanity.