The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the 2022 AIAA Dryden Lectureship in Research is awarded to Anthony M. Waas, the Richard A. Auhll Department Chair of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. Waas will deliver his lecture, “Digital Tools for Design and Analysis of Composite Aerostructures,” Wednesday, 5 January, 1800 hrs PT, during the 2022 AIAA SciTech Forum, San Diego and online, 3-7 January.Registration is still open to attend in San Diego in person, or online. Journalists can request a Press Pass here.


The Dryden Lecture in Research is one of the most prestigious lectures bestowed by the Institute. Since the inaugural lecture in 1961, it has been a catalyst for sharing research advancements and knowledge. This premier lecture is named in honor of Dr. Hugh L. Dryden, a renowned aerospace leader and the director of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, or NACA, as well as the first deputy administrator of NASA when the agency was created in 1958. The award emphasizes the importance of basic research in advancing aeronautics and astronautics.


Waas has been with the University of Michigan since 2018. Prior to that he was the Boeing Egtvedt Endowed Chair Professor and Department Chair in the William E. Boeing Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at the University of Washington, Seattle. Waas was the Felix Pawlowski Collegiate Chair Professor of Aerospace Engineering, and the Director, Composite Structures Laboratory, at the University of Michigan, from 1988 to 2014, prior to joining the University of Washington in 2015.  


Waas is a Fellow of AIAA. He also is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineering, the American Society for Composites, the American Academy of Mechanics and the Royal Aeronautical Society, UK. In 2017, Waas was elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences, and in 2018 to the European Academy of Sciences and Arts. He is also the recipient of the 2020 AIAA ICME Prize and the 2020 ASME Warner T. Koiter Medal. Recently, Waas was elected to the U.S. National Academies Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board.  


For more information about the AIAA Honors and Awards program, contact Patricia A. Carr at


# # #


Media Contact: Rebecca B. Gray, APR,, 804.397.5270 (cell)


< span style="line-height: 16.1333px;">About AIAA

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 91 countries, and 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, and follow AIAA on TwitterFacebook, LinkedIn, and Instagram.