(Washington) – On March 3, the World Space Week Awards Reception will honor special achievements in space outreach.

Honorees are:

  • Bill Nye, the “Science Guy”
  • Lori Garver, President, Capital Space
  • William Gerstenmaier, NASA Associate Administrator for Space Operations
  • Dr. Edward Weiler, NASA Associate Administrator for Science

The 6-8 pm reception at the Cosmos Club in Washington is free and open to the space community. RSVP to admin@worldspaceweek.org. It is sponsored by Hamilton Sundstrand.

The event is organized by the World Space Week Association which globally coordinates UN-declared World Space Week, held October 4-10 annually. During World Space Week, the global space sector inspires the next generation and educates the public about space through synchronized events in over 60 countries.

Dr. Sergio Camacho, ex-Director of the UN Office of Outer Space Affairs, will speak and former NASA Chief of Staff Courtney Stadd will serve as Master of Ceremonies. For more information on World Space Week and the Awards Reception, see www.worldspaceweek.org

Media contact: World Space Week Association President Dennis Stone, dstone@worldspaceweek.org, cell 832-628-2212