General John R. (Jack) Dailey, USMC (Ret), will be enshrined into the National Aviation Hall of Fame on September 28, 2018 at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C.

“Everything we do at the National Aviation Hall of Fame honors brave American’s for service to our country and for their ingenuity, courage, and vision,” said Michael Quiello, NAHF Chairman. “We are proud to honor General Dailey in the Class of 2018. His leadership, dedication and tenacity will inspire generations to reach beyond the sky.”

General John R. Dailey, USMC (Ret), earned his Navy Wings in 1958 and went on to serve two tours in Vietnam. While there, Dailey completed 450 combat missions as a fighter pilot. For his service in Southeast Asia, Dailey earned the Distinguised Flying Cross, Bronze Star, Navy Commendation Medal and 24 Air Medals.

From 1973 to 1990, Dailey served in several command positions and grew steadily in rank along the way. He also continued to fly. In August, 1990, Dailey earned the rank of General and assumed the post as Assistant Commandant of the Marine Corps. When he retired from the active military, Dailey’s operational experience included over 7,500 flying hours in fighters, light attack, reconnaissance and electronic warfare aircraft, transports and helicopters.

After retiring from the Marine Corps, Dailey served as the Deputy Administrator of NASA from 1992-1999. In 2000, he became the Director of the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum (NASM). From that time, until his retirement in 2018, Dailey diligently worked to expand the size and scope of the NASM. From the opening to the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center in 2003 to the expansion of STEM opportunities, Dailey’s imprint on the NASM will be part of his lasting legacy on aerospace and America.

The NAHF Class of 2018 also includes: Colonel R. Walter Cunningham, USMC (Ret), Korean War veteran, fighter pilot and Apollo astronaut; the late Mr. William Dana, NASA pioneer, engineer and test pilot; and General Ronald R. Fogleman, USAF (Ret), Vietnam veteran, fighter pilot and Air Force Leader. 

The NAHF’s Enshrinement Ceremony and Program will include industry leaders and over a dozen returning Enshrinees, including astronauts Eileen Collins and Hoot Gibson, Aerospace Leaders Charlie Bolden and Walter Boyne, Dick and Burt Rutan, general aviation titans Dale Klapmeier and Tom Poberezny, WWII triple-ace Bud Anderson and Tuskegee Airman Charles McGee, among others.

Sponsorships are currently available. Committed sponsors to date include Cirrus Aircraft, United Airlines, PerformAir International, Herb Kelleher, GE Aviation, Scotts Miracle-Gro, AAR Corporation, DuPont, Jet Linx, AIRBUS, Rolls-Royce, Williams International, NBAA, Northrup Grumman, Oliver Wyman, Southwest Airlines, Concordia Capital, GAMA, Tactical Air Support, UNITECH, and THEIA Systems.

The evening will begin with a reception at 6:00 p.m. with a dinner and program to follow at 7:00 p.m. The National Building Museum is located at 440 G St. NW in Washington, D.C. Sponsorship information is available at