The Space Frontier Foundation announced that its annual NewSpace conference will be at NASA’s Ames Research Center in Mountainview, California July 18-20.

SFF Chairman Berin Szoka said, “For twenty-one years, the Space Frontier Foundation has been the vanguard of the NewSpace movement, working to change the economics of space. Our annual NewSpace conference will again bring together a unique mix of revolutionary space entrepreneurs, investors, scientists, engineers and space policy leaders to explore the opportunities and challenges of opening the Space Frontier to human settlement. This year we will also commemorate the 40th anniversary of the Apollo 11 lunar landing. But we won’t just be looking backwards at Apollo, we’ll be looking forwards at how NewSpace can make the Moon our first stepping stone into space, drawing on the lessons of the Internet revolution.”

The conference will kick off with a film screening of “Orphans of Apollo” the evening of Friday, July 17, open to the general public. A single track of programming will explore the exciting potential of NewSpace on Saturday and the business realities of NewSpace on Sunday – including a business plan competition in which entrepreneurs will compete in front of investors and analysts for cash prizes and private meetings. On Monday, we will join in a combined commemoration of the Apollo landing with NASA Ames’ Lunar Sciences Institute.

SFF Co-Founder Rick Tumlinson said, “This isn’t just a conference, it’s a gathering of the Frontier movement and the NewSpace community. NewSpace 2009 is a unique opportunity for networking. Our social activities are where most of the real business of space gets done! So come join us for great programming, receptions, our well known ‘hospitality suite’, and a grand gala Monday evening to celebrate the Apollo anniversary.”

For more information, visit and sign up to receive updates about the conference – or RSVP on Facebook today! Discounted early registration will be available on the website shortly.

Space Frontier Foundation
William J. Watson
Executive Director