The Space Foundation announced today that Col Eileen Collins, USAF (Retired), former NASA Shuttle commander, is the 2007 recipient of the Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award. This award recognizes outstanding contributions toward increasing public awareness of and support for the exploration and development of space. Collins will be honored Monday, April 9, during the opening ceremony of the 23rd National Space Symposium, the premier space industry conference, scheduled for April 9-12, 2007, at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs.

“We are delighted to honor the accomplishments of Eileen Collins,” said Elliot G. Pulham, president and chief executive officer of the Space Foundation. “This remarkable woman has helped bring excitement about and awareness of exploration home to countless numbers of individuals in all walks of life.”

Collins made her mark on space exploration as NASA’s first female shuttle pilot in 1995 (STS-63), first female shuttle commander in 1999 (STS-93), and commander of NASA’s return to flight mission in 2005 (STS-114). Using her significant achievements, Collins promotes greater interest in the space program and encourages students to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, and math. Collins has made herself available for countless interviews and public appearances.

Collins retired from NASA after commanding STS-114, NASA’s return to flight mission. She saw her retirement as an opportunity for more astronauts to fly and continue her efforts to promote space exploration and create greater awareness.

The Space Foundation annually presents the Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award in memory of the late Douglas S. Morrow, renowned Academy Award winning writer and producer, space advocate, and former director of the Space Foundation, to an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to public awareness of space programs.

Previous Morrow Award recipients include Tom Hanks, the X PRIZE Foundation, LIFE magazine, space artist Robert T. McCall, the late Gene Roddenberry and Majel Barrett Roddenberry, Popular Science magazine, the crew of Space Shuttle Mission STS-95, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, and the Cable News Network (CNN).

Collins will be honored during the opening ceremony, co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman. The opening ceremony will be followed by an opening reception, co-sponsored by the Colorado Space Coalition, and opening night fireworks and dessert reception, co-sponsored by United Space Alliance. Featured speakers and panel discussions during the remaining three days of the 23rd National Space Symposium will address civil, commercial, and national security space issues.

Senior executive leaders from NASA and other space and government agencies, the commercial space and satellite broadcasting industry, research universities and academia, space tourism entrepreneurs, the Department of Defense, military space commands and the global space industry participate. More than 7,000 registrants, guests, speakers, exhibitors, and media are expected.

Confirmed featured speakers at the conference are Under Secretary of the Air Force The Honorable Dr. Ronald M. Sega; NASA Administrator The Honorable Dr. Michael D. Griffin; Director of the National Reconnaissance Office Dr. Donald M. Kerr; Chief of Staff of the Air Force Gen T. Michael Moseley; Commander of Air Force Space Command Gen Kevin P. Chilton; Director of the Hayden Planetarium, Rose Center for Earth and Space and Space Foundation Board Member Dr. Neil DeGrasse Tyson; and Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Lockheed Martin Corporation Mr. Robert J. Stevens.

Highlights of the 23rd National Space Symposium also include an extensive exhibit center showcasing more than 140 companies and organizations, co-sponsored by Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; the Corporate Partnership dinner, co-sponsored by Raytheon Company; the presentation of the Space Foundation’s highest honor, the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award, at a luncheon co-sponsored by The Boeing Company; and the Space Technology Hall of Fame dinner, co-sponsored by Lockheed Martin.

Additional co-sponsors of the symposium are Analytical Graphics, Inc. (AGI), Ares Corporation, ATK, BAE Systems, BearingPoint, Cisco Systems, CSP Associates, General Dynamics, Honeywell, IAC 2008 Ltd., Infinite Links, ITT, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Stellar Solutions and Swales Aerospace. Media partners for the 23rd National Space Symposium are Aviation Week, The New York Times and Space News. Frontier Airlines is the official airline of the conference. Visit for secure online registration, an updated program agenda, confirmed speaker list, and exhibitor list.

About the Space Foundation

Founded in 1983 and headquartered in Colorado Springs, the Space Foundation is a national nonprofit organization that vigorously advances civil, commercial, and national security space endeavors and inspires, enables, and propels tomorrow’s explorers. The Space Foundation also has an office in Washington, D.C., and field representatives in Houston, Texas and Cape Canaveral, Fla. The Space Foundation is a leader in space awareness activities, trade association services, research and analysis for the global space industry, and educational enterprises that bring space into the classroom. Along with partnering organizations, the Space Foundation also conducts Strategic Space and Defense (Oct. 9-11, 2007), in Omaha, Neb. For more information, visit