India and Mongolia signed an agreement at New Delhi today (January 15, 2004) for cooperation between the Department of Space, Government of India and the Ministry of Infrastructure, Government of Mongolia. Mr Satyabrata Mookherjee, Minister of State for Space, Government of India and Mr Byambyn Jigjid, Minister for Infrastructure, Government of Mongolia, signed the agreement at Hyderabad House in the presence of the Prime Minister of India, Mr Atal Behari Vajpayee, and the Prime Minister of Mongolia Mr Nambariin Enkhbayar.

The agreement provides an umbrella for cooperation between India and Mongolia in the areas of space science, technology and applications. It will cover activities in the areas of satellites, sounding rockets, balloons and ground facilities for space research and applications. The agreement also covers studies related to satellite communications, satellite based remote sensing and satellite meteorology, satellite ground stations and satellite mission management, training facilities and exchange of scientists.

The agreement signed today is sequel to the visit of the Minister of Infrastructure of Mongolia to ISRO in February 2002.