The third National Academies’ Decadal Survey for Solar and Space Physics (Heliophysics) is underway. The President of the National Academy of Sciences has appointed Dr. Stephen A. Fuselier and Dr. Robyn M. Millan co-chairs of the steering committee. The survey will be managed by a steering committee supported by several study panels.

The survey co-chairs are calling for white papers to inform the work of the steering committee and panels. White papers may focus on one or more science goals; notional instruments, missions, or ground-based investigations; or issues of broad concern to the community. White papers are due on August 18, 2022. The decadal survey’s statement of task, details of the call for white papers and instructions on how to submit, biographical information for the co-chairs, and FAQs are on the survey’s webpage at