Newest space station module will bear the name submitted by students at two Texas schools

WASHINGTON –  Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) today congratulated students in League City, TX and Lubbock, TX on their submission of the winning name for the Node 2 Module of the International Space Station (ISS).  The name suggested by the students, “Harmony,” was selected in a competitive academic contest which also required each class to build a scale replica of the module and write an essay explaining their submission.

“This competition is a great opportunity to recognize students who are taking an interest in math and science at an early age,” Sen. Hutchison said. “Texas has a strong tradition of scientific excellence, and I am proud to congratulate the next generation of achievers.”

NASA held a student competition to name the module and students from six different schools, including two in Texas, submitted the winning name.  The successful Texas students were Ms. Brigette Berry’s 8th grade class at League City Intermediate School in League City and Mr. Bradley Neu’s 9th grade science class at Lubbock High School in Lubbock.

The Harmony module will be conveyed to the ISS aboard Space Shuttle Atlantis later this year as part of NASA Mission STS-120.  The module will act as a connecting port and passageway to additional international science labs and supply spacecraft and will be a work platform for the station’s robotic arm.  It is the first part of the ISS to be named by someone other than a NASA official. For more information on the station and Node 2, visit: