Washington, DC, February 2, 2016 The National Aeronautic Association announced today that nine aerospace projects and accomplishments will compete for the 2015 Robert J. Collier Trophy.

For 104 years, the Collier Trophy has been the benchmark of aerospace achievement. Awarded annually ” for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America”, it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in history. Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry, and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs which have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the F-22, and the International Space Station. The 2014 Collier was awarded to Gulfstream Aerospace for the development of the G650.

The 2015 Nominees are:

– Airbus A350 XWB
– Blue Origin’s New Shepard Team
– C-5M Super Galaxy
– Dawn Project Team
– HA-420 HondaJet
– New Horizons Project Team
– Two Eagles Balloon Team
– UCAS-D Autonomous Aerial Refueling Demonstration

Led by NAA Chairman Jim Albaugh, the Selection Committee will consist of leaders representing various organizations throughout aerospace.
The Selection Committee includes:

Mark Baker, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association
David Balloff, Embraer
Tom Bell, Boeing
Bob Brown, Academy of Model Aeronautics
Steve Brown, National Business Aviation Association
Steve Callaghan, Chairman – NAA Awards and Events Committee
Brian Chase, Bell Helicopter
Leda Chong, Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation
David Coleal, Bombardier Aerospace
Jack Dailey, Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
Bob Durbin, Aerospace Industries Association
Barry Eccleston, Airbus Americas
Randall Greene, Safe Flight Instrument Corporation
Mike Heuer, International Aerobatic Club
T. C. Jones, Northrop Grumman
Krisstie Kondrotis, Spirit Aerosystems
Dr. John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences
Dr. Samantha Magill, Honda Aircraft Company
Dr. Sandy Magnus, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Dave Manke, United Technologies
Mary Miller, BBA Aviation
Stan O’Connor, General Electric Aviation
Ken Panos, Aerojet Rocketdyne
Steve Plummer, Rolls-Royce, North America
Skip Ringo, The Ringo Group
Jean Rosanvallon, Dassault Falcon
Bob Rubino, Lockheed Martin
John Stammreich, Aero Club of Southern California
Laurie Sussman, Rockwell Collins
Max Trescott, Aero Club of Northern California
Mark Van Tine, Jeppessen

Jonathan Gaffney, President & CEO of NAA, will serve as the Director of the selection process and is a non-voting member of the Committee.
“The Collier is the Super Bowl of the world’s aerospace industry, and this list of nominees certainly reflects it,” said Jim Albaugh, Chairman of the National Aeronautic Association and Chairman of the Selection Committee. “These are all extremely worthy nominations, and they each demonstrate the vitality of our industry.”

The Selection Committee will meet on Tuesday, March 8th in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced that evening at the NAA Spring Awards Dinner held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott.

The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place at a later date and location to be determined. More information can be found at www.naa.aero.

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit membership organization devoted to fostering opportunities to participate fully in aviation activities and to promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States. NAA is the caretaker of some of the most important aviation awards in the world, and certifies all world and national aviation records set in the United States. For information, visit www.naa.aero.

Contact: Stephanie Berry
703-416-4888 Ext 104