WASHINGTON – NASA and the National Executive Committee for Space-Based Positioning, Navigation and Timing (PNT) announced Thursday, March 22 the members of the National Space-Based Positioning, Navigation and Timing Advisory Board. James Schlesinger will chair the 24-member board; Brad Parkinson is the vice-chair.

The U.S. Space-Based Positioning, Navigation, and Timing Policy of December 8, 2004, established a permanent National Space-Based Positioning, Navigation, and Timing Executive Committee. The committee is co-chaired by the Deputy Secretaries of the Departments of Defense and Transportation with equivalent representatives from the Departments of State, Commerce, and Homeland Security; the Joint Chiefs of Staff and NASA.

NASA established the advisory board on behalf of the executive committee. The board will operate in an advisory capacity as directed by the national PNT policy and in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act.

The board will provide advice, as directed by the executive committee, about U.S. space-based PNT policy, services, planning and program management. The board’s first meeting is in Washington March 29-30. The public meetings will be in the Polaris Suite, Reagan International Trade Center, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave. For additional board information, contact the Advisory Committee Management Officer, Diane Rausch at 202-358-4510.

For information about U.S. national PNT policy, the executive committee, advisory board members, charter, meeting dates and public sessions, visit:


U.S. Advisory Board Members:

James R. Schlesinger, Chair – Chairman, Board of Trustees, MITRE
Bradford Parkinson, Vice Chair – Professor, Stanford University
Phil Boyer – Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association
Capt. Joseph D. Burns, U.S. Navy (Ret.) – United Airlines
Ann Ciganer – U.S. GPS Industry Council
Susan M. Cischke – Ford Motor Company
Per K. Enge – Professor, Stanford University
Martin C. Faga – Former President and CEO, MITRE
Keith R. Hall – Booz Allen Hamilton
Robert J. Hermann – Global Technology Partners, LLC
Chester A. Huber – OnStar Corporation
David Logsdon – U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Gen. Lance Lord, USAF (Ret.) – Former Commander, U.S. Air Force Space Command
Timothy A. Murphy – The Boeing Company
Terence J. McGurn – CIA (Ret.); currently, private consultant
Gen. James P. McCarthy, USAF (Ret.) – Professor, U.S. Air Force Academy
Ruth Neilan – NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Charles R. Trimble – Chairman, U.S. GPS Industry Council

International Committee:

Gerhard Beutler – International Association of Geodesy, Switzerland
Arve Dimmen – Norwegian Coastal Administration
Suresh V. Kibe – Indian Space Research Organization
Keith McPherson – Airservices Australia
Hiroshi Nishiguchi – Japan GPS Council
Capt. Richard A. Smith, Royal Navy (Ret.) – International Association of Institutes of Navigation, England