The Montana Aerospace Development Authority, a statewide non-profit research
consortium, has signed a NASA Space Act Agreement to collaborate on
aerospace research and development with the National Space Science and
Technology Center (NSSTC) in Huntsville, Ala.

This marks the first time the NSSTC, a NASA-sponsored research center that
partners with more than 20 industry or university entities, has created an
alliance with another statewide consortium. The agreement, signed in June,
enables the two research groups to share resources in Earth science, space
science, material science, biotechnology, propulsion, advanced optics,
energy technology and information technology.

It sets the foundation for joint pursuits, such as collaborating to win
research proposals, partnering on scientific research, or sharing facilities
— including resources at one of the NSSTC’s primary partners, NASA’s
Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville.

“The Montana Aerospace Development Authority’s capabilities complement our
capabilities,” said Robin Henderson, chief operating officer of the National
Space Science and Technology Center. “These similar areas of expertise,
enhanced by variations in our facilities, background and people, will help
fuel the success of this partnership.”

The Montana Aerospace Development Authority is a collaboration of Montana
research universities and more than a dozen Montana companies with expertise
in aerospace-related research and development.

The NSSTC is a partnership between the Marshall Center and the Alabama
research universities. Focusing on space science, earth science, materials
science, biotechnology, propulsion, information technology and advanced
optics and energy technology, the collaboration enables scientists,
engineers and educators to share research and other facilities.

— End –

The NSSTC is a cooperative venture of NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center,
Alabama A & M University, Auburn University, Tuskegee University, The
University of Alabama, The University of Alabama at Birmingham, The
University of Alabama in Huntsville, and The University of South Alabama.