On Sept. 21, NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, presented its Industry & Advocate Awards for fiscal year 2017 during the Marshall Small Business Alliance Meeting at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center in Huntsville. The awards reflect leadership in the aerospace business community and sustained achievement in service to Marshall and to NASA’s overarching mission.
Established in 2007 and sponsored by Marshall’s Office of Procurement and Small Business Office, the Alliance helps small businesses pursue NASA procurement and subcontracting opportunities.
Jacobs of Huntsville was named Marshall’s Large Business Prime Contractor of the Year for support of the Small Business Subcontracting Programs under Marshall’s Engineering and Science Services and Skills Augmentation contract.
Victory Solutions Inc. of Huntsville was named Marshall’s Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year for support provided under the Marshall Integrated Program Support Services Configuration Management and Data Management task order.
Genex Systems LLC of Newport News, Virginia, was named Marshall’s Small Business Subcontractor of the Year, for support to Teledyne Brown Engineering under the Mission Operations & Integration contract.
Marshall presented its Large Business Prime Contractor Excellence Award to URS Federal Services Inc. of Germantown, Maryland, and Small Business Prime Contractor Excellence Awards to Aerie Aerospace LLC of Huntsville; Aetos Systems Inc. of Huntsville; All Points Logistics LLC of Houston; Bastion Technologies Inc. of Houston; and Manufacturing Technical Solutions Inc. of Huntsville.
Small Business Subcontractor Excellence Awards were presented to CRM Solutions Inc. of Huntsville; Ensign Bickford Aerospace & Defense Co. of Graham, Kentucky; Futuramic Tool & Engineering Co. of Warren, Michigan; JBS Solutions Inc. of Huntsville; Metalwerks PMD Inc. of Aliquippa, Pennsylvania; and Seabrook Solutions LLC of Huntsville.
The Mentor-Protégé Agreement of the Year was awarded to mentor firm URS Federal Services Inc. and protégé company Seabrook Solutions LLC for their support of Marshall’s Operations Support Services contract. Honored with Mentor-Protégé Program Participation Awards were The Boeing Co. of Huntsville and AMRO Fabricating Corp. of South El Monte, California, recognizing their mentor and protégé roles, respectively, on Marshall’s Space Launch System Stages contract.
The Small Business Program Lifetime Leadership Award was presented to Dr. Ronald Belz, a Jacobs operations manager in Marshall’s Engineering Directorate, for his support of the Marshall Small Business Program, participating on the Marshall Prime Contractors Supplier Council from 2003-2017 and serving as Jacobs’ small business liaison officer.
Small Business Program Advocacy Awards were presented to Debra Batson, director of business management at Teledyne Brown Engineering; and Taylor Dean, business development specialist at Manufacturing Technical Solutions Inc. Batson and Dean were recognized for planning and coordinating special outreach activities in their respective roles as events coordinator for the Marshall Prime Contractors Supplier Council and events coordinator for the Small Business Executive Leadership Team.
David Iosco, deputy director of Marshall’s Office of Procurement, was named Procurement Person of the Year; Angela Lovelady, program analyst in Marshall’s Space Launch System Program Office, was named Program Person of the Year; Alicia Carroll, technical resources manager in Marshall’s Engineering Directorate, was named Technical Person of the Year; and Kimberly Keith, external relations specialist in Marshall’s Office of Strategic Analysis & Communications, was named Small Business Technical Coordinator of the Year.
NASA civil service employees nominate eligible individuals and organizations for awards. A panel of NASA business procurement officials evaluates each nominee’s business practices, innovative processes, adoption of new technologies and their overall contributions to NASA’s mission and the agency’s Small Business Program.
Award recipients in the categories of Large and Small Business Prime Contractors of the Year, Small Business Subcontractor of the Year and Procurement, Technical, Small Business Technical Coordinator and Program Persons of the Year become candidates for agency-level Small Business Industry Awards.
For more information about doing business with Marshall, visit:
For more information about NASA’s Office of Small Business Programs, visit: