At the conclusion of its 2015 Mitchell-Beall-Rosen Memorial Scholarship Contest, NASA Federal Credit Union awarded scholarships—ranging from$1,000 to the top prize of $6,000—to eight high school seniors. The annual program rewards the writing talents of young Credit Union members who are working toward four-year or two-year undergraduate degrees or vocational studies.

“Each year, I am humbled by the quality of the students, as well as the level of their aspirations, and this year is no exception,” said Frank Peñaranda, Chairman of NASA Federal’s Scholarship Committee and Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors. “We are pleased to be able to give back to these worthy students and help them reach their goals through the Mitchell-Beall-Rosen Memorial Scholarship.” 

The following outstanding seniors were recipients of this year’s scholarship awards:

Bryan Howl of West River, Maryland—Plans to work as an atmospheric science researcher after receiving a degree from Purdue University.

Christopher Jeletic of Annapolis, Maryland—Will attend Rochester Institute of Technology where he will major in mechanical engineering.

Veronika Krahe of Ellicott City, Maryland—Plans to pursue a career in landscape architecture and civil engineering after attending California Polytechnic State University.

Jacob Mast of Salisbury, Maryland—Plans to pursue a career in law and politics after attending theUniversity of Maryland, College Park.

Nicholas Rehm of LaPlata, Maryland—Will pursue a degree in aerospace engineering at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Julia Rulapaugh of Centreville, Maryland—Will study special education at Shepherd University to pursue a career in teaching. 

Emerson Sirk of Silver Spring, Maryland—Will attend Cornell University to study environmental engineering and sustainability. 

Hans Taggarse of Columbia, Maryland—Plans to pursue a career combining biomedical engineering and entrepreneurship after attending Yale University.

About the NASA Federal Credit Union Scholarship Program
The Scholarship Program was established in 1983 in memory of Wilfred Mitchell and then renamed in 1991 to also honor Donald Beall. Both men are former NASA Federal Credit Union officials who were strong advocates of the education of our youth. In 2010, the name of the scholarship program was again changed, to the Mitchell-Beall-Rosen Memorial Scholarship Program, in honor of Eugene D. Rosen, who was instrumental in launching the program and served as its Chairman for 27 years. Mitchell, Beall and Rosen are fondly remembered for their commitment to the Credit Union movement and especially for their efforts to help young people succeed.

About NASA Federal Credit Union
NASA Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative owned entirely by its members and operated for the benefit of all who belong. Chartered in 1949, NASA Federal Credit Union serves the diverse needs of over 100,000 members with a full array of financial services and the strength of more than $1.6 billion in assets.