At a function organised at ISRO’s Space Applications Centre (SAC), Ahmadabad on February 25, 2016, Awards instituted by ISRO as well as Astronautical Society of India (ASI) were given to persons who have made prominent contribution to the Indian Space Programme. ASI is a professional society set up in 1990 serving for the promotion of astronautics and space in the country through dissemination of knowledge and information related to the subject.

Also during the function, a book “Integrated Design for Space Transportation System” authored by Dr. B.N. Suresh, former director of ISRO’s Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC) and Dr. K. Sivan, current director, VSSC, was released by Chief Guest Dr. R Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Adviser to Govt. of India.

Mr. A.S. Kiran Kumar, Chairman, ISRO and President, ASI released the new ASI website and spoke on the occasion highlighting the importance of the recognition of the various contributions to the Indian Space Programme.

Addressing the distinguished gathering, the chief guest of the function, Dr R. Chidambaram, appreciated the achievements of ISRO and the efforts of the authors of the book “Integrated Design for space Transportation System” in bringing out a quality publication at par with foreign authors.

The presented ISRO awards for 2012, 2013 and 2014 were Life time Achievement Award, Outstanding Achievement Award and Performance Excellence Award.

Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, former Chairman, ISRO, received ISRO Life Time Achievement Award 2014, for his contribution to Indian Space Programme. Besides, Outstanding Achievement Award for 2012 was awarded to Mr M.Chandradathan, former Director of VSSC, Prof, B.L. Deekshatulu, former Director, National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC), Hyderabad, Prof J N Goswami, former Director, Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmadabad, Dr M.Y.S. Prasad, former Director, Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC) SHAR, Sriharikota and Dr. S.K. Shivakumar, former director, ISRO Satellite Centre (ISAC), Bangalore.

Outstanding Achievement Award for 2014 was received by Dr. V. Adimurthy, Honorary Distinguished Prof ISRO, Dr. M. Annadurai, Director, ISAC, Dr. M . Annamalai, Former director, SDSC SHAR, Dr. V Jayaraman, former Director, NRSC, Mr. R V Perumal, former Director, Liquid Propulsion System Centre, Trivandrum.

Astronautical Society of India awards given during the function were Aryabhata Award for the year 2012 and 2013, ASI Awards for year 2012 and 2013, ISRO-ASI Awards for year2012 and 2013 and ‘Space Gold Medal’ Awards for the year 2012 and 2013.

Dr. Ranganath R. Navalgund, former Director, SAC, and Dr. Avinash Chander, former Secretary, Defense R&D, Director General, DRDO, were given the Prestigeous Aryabhata Award for 2012 and 2013 respectively.

The function also featured an Invited Talk by Prof Somak Raychoudhury, Director, Inter University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune on “Why do we need to go to space to see the sky”.