Click here to register

Download one-page event flyer (PDF)

The International Polar Year (IPY) 2007-2008 is envisioned as an intense, internationally coordinated campaign of research that will initiate the dawn of a new era in polar science. IPY 2007-2008 will include research in both polar regions and involve strong links to the rest of the globe. It will be multi- and interdisciplinary in scope and truly international in participation. It will educate and excite the public, and help train the next generation of engineers, scientists, and leaders. It will include elements from a wide range of scientific disciplines, including issues related to human populations.

The Polar Research Board of the National Academies serves as the U.S. National Committee for IPY.

Please email with comments and questions concerning the IPY.

The United States Opening Ceremony for International Polar Year 2007-2008

Monday, February 26, 2007

10:00 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

Hosted by the National Academies and the National Science Foundation

National Academy of Sciences Auditorium

2100 C Street, N.W., Washington, D.C.

Please join us to mark the beginning of International Polar Year in the United States. The opening ceremony will include remarks from polar scientists about research set to take place during this historic time, as well as remarks from government leaders whose agencies play an active role in this important international effort. This event will provide a unique opportunity to network and learn how to get involved in International Polar Year activities.

Speakers include:

  • Arden Bement, director, National Science Foundation, Arlington, V.A.
  • Robin Bell, senior research scientist, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Palisades, N.Y.
  • Robert Bindschadler, chief scientist, NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, M.D.
  • Ralph Cicerone, president, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D.C.
  • James Connaughton, chairman, White House Council on Environmental Quality, Washington, D.C.
  • Gretchen Hofmann, associate professor, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Admiral Conrad Lautenbacher, administrator, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Washington, D.C.
  • Deanna Kingston, associate professor, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Mark Myers, director, U.S. Geological Survey, Washington, D.C.
  • Konrad Steffen, director, Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Mead Treadwell, chair, U.S. Arctic Research Commission, Washington, D.C.

Seating is limited. To attend, register online at:

**You must present photo identification to be admitted into the building. This event will be webcast at: If you have any questions, please contact: Leah Probst, Polar Research Board of the National Academies at (202) 334-2394,; or Peter West, National Science Foundation at (703) 292-8070,