Doug Peterson
Johnson Space Center
(281) 483-5914

Release: J00-01

The fourth of several groups of prospective astronauts will be at NASA’s
Johnson Space Center (JSC) the week of January 9 for orientation,
interviews, and medical evaluations.

Approximately 120 of over 3,000 applicants will be interviewed for a
chance to be among those named as astronaut candidates. The final
selections for the class of 2000 will be announced early this year with
the astronaut candidates reporting for duty in the summer.

The fourth group of twenty includes: Christopher A. Apblett, Ph.D.,
Albuquerque, New Mexico; Blaine W. Brown, Dickinson, Texas; L. Alberto
Cangahuala, Ph.D., Pasadena, California; Kevin M. Claffy, (Lt. Cdr.,
USN), St. Inigoes, Maryland; Tom P. Currie, (Maj., USAF), Palmdale,
California; Charles H. Fields, Ph.D., Malibu, California; Albert F. C.
Haldemann, Ph.D., Pasadena, California; Gerald J. Hopkins, (Lt. Col.,
USA), Houston, Texas; Douglas G. Hurley, (Maj., USMC), Lexington Park,
Maryland; T. Tupper Hyde, Ph.D., Phoenix, Arizona; Melissa D. Lane,
Ph.D., Webster, Texas; Kelly J. Latimer, (Maj., USAF), Palmdale,
California; Peter W. Matisoo, (Lt. Cdr., USN), Japan; Brian M. Mayeaux,
Ph.D., Deer Park, Texas; Stuart M. Merrill, (Lt. Cdr., USCG), Sitka,
Alaska; John M. Olson, (Capt., USAF), Ft. Walton Beach, Florida; Craig
D. Ramsdell, M.D., Boston, Massachusetts; Marcus W. Shute, Ph.D.,
Conyers, Georgia; David M. Swenson, (Lt. Cdr., USN), Virginia Beach,
Virginia; and Terry W. Virts, (Capt., USAF), Edwards, California.

Astronaut candidate selections are conducted approximately every two
years with the number of candidates selected depending on Space Shuttle
flight rates, Space Station requirements, overall program requirements
and astronaut attrition rates.