August 29, 2006 — Reston, VA — The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is proud to announce that the following awards will be presented at the 6th AIAA Aircraft Technology, Integration and Operations (ATIO) Conference, September 25-27, 2006.

Conrad F. Newberry, professor emeritus at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, and at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, California, will receive the AIAA Distinguished Service Award. This award is the highest honor presented to an individual member of AIAA who has distinguished himself or herself over a period of years by service to the institute. Dr. Newberry is being recognized for ceaseless efforts to enhance aerospace system design education, and for five decades of leadership in aerospace engineering technology, education, and career development.

Robert Sandusky, executive consultant, Belcan Corporation in Yorktown, Virginia, will receive the AIAA Aircraft Design Award. The award is presented to a design engineer or team for the conception, definition, or development of an original concept leading to significant advancement in aircraft design or design technology. Sandusky is being recognized as the first named inventor of the F-20 Tigershark and YF-23A Advanced Tactical Fighter Prototype, chief engineer of the YF-23 and for significant involvement in the development of the YF-17.

Ross Reynolds, vice president, Air Mobility Programs, at Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company in Marietta, Georgia, will receive the AIAA Hap Arnold Award for Excellence in Aeronautical Program Management. The award is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions in the management of a significant aeronautical or aeronautical related program or project. Reynolds is being recognized for outstanding leadership in instituting new and robust processes and management disciplines that have brought long-term stability to the Lockheed Martin C-130J Super Hercules Airlifter Program.

Leo Burkardt, branch chief, Advanced Planning & Analysis, at NASA Glenn Research Center in Cleveland, Ohio, will receive the AIAA Piper General Aviation Award. The award is presented for outstanding contributions leading to the advancement of general aviation. Burkardt is being recognized for significant contributions to the future of general aviation.

Each honoree will receive an engraved medal, a certificate of citation, and a rosette pin on award at the Award Banquet and Historic Aerospace Sites Ceremony on Tuesday, September 26, in conjunction with the AIAA ATIO Conference at the Hyatt Regency Wichita in Wichita, Kansas.

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) advances the state of aerospace science, engineering, and technological leadership. Headquartered in suburban Washington, D.C., the institute serves over 35,000 members in 65 regional sections and 79 countries. AIAA membership is drawn from all levels of industry, academia, private research organizations, and government. For more information, visit

Sharon Grace
Corporate Communications
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500
Reston, VA 20191