February 22, 2007 – Reston, VA – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2007 Aerospace Spotlight Awards and the election of the 2007 Honorary Fellows and Fellows.

Presentation of the awards and the newly elected Honorary Fellows and Fellows will take place at the Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala on Tuesday, May 15, 2007, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, Washington, D.C.

For more information on the award recipients, please contact Carol Stewart, carols@aiaa.org.

To purchase tables and/or individual seats at the gala, please contact Merrie Scott, merries@aiaa.org.


AIAA Foundation Award for Excellence – Gordon Bethune, chairman of the board, Aloha Airgroup, Inc., Honolulu, Hawaii

Daniel Guggenheim Medal – Robert Loewy, William T. Oakes professor and chair of the Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia.

Distinguished Service Award – William W. Vaughan, research professor, University of Alabama in Huntsville, Huntsville, Alabama

Goddard Astronautics Award – Michael D. Griffin, NASA Administrator, Washington, D.C.

International Cooperation Award – Graham Gibbs, counselor for space affairs, Canadian Space Agency, Canadian Embassy, Washington, D.C.

Reed Aeronautics Award – Meyer (Mike) Benzakein, Wright Brothers Institute professor and chair of Aerospace Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio

AIAA Educator Achievement Award Winners

  • Kareen Borders, Key Peninsula Middle School, Lakebay, Washington
  • Russ Billings, Kearsley High School, Flint, Michigan
  • Lori Derf, Sol C. Johnson High School, Savannah, Georgia
  • Richard Glueck, Orono Middle School, Orono, Maine
  • Ricardo Soria, Chocawhatchee High School, Ft. Walton Beach, Florida
  • Timothy Spuck, Oil City Area Senior High School, Oil City, Pennsylvania
  • Nancy Tashima, Konawaena High School/Onizuka Space Center, Kailua-Kona, Hawaii


  • Jerry Grey, Aerospace and Energy Consultant
  • Malcolm O’Neill, Lockheed Martin Corporation (Retired)
  • Michael Yarymovych, Sarasota Space Associates


  • Frederik Abbink, National Aerospace Laboratory
  • Ronald Adrian, Arizona State University
  • William Anderson, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics
  • Monika Auweter-Kurtz, University of Hamburg
  • H. Wilhelm Behrens, Northrop Grumman Space Tech.
  • James Berry, Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
  • Kumar Bhatia, Boeing Commercial Airplanes
  • Robert Bishop, University of Texas at Austin
  • Robert Braun, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Richard Covey, United Space Alliance
  • Howard “Pat” Curtiss, Princeton University
  • Mark Drela, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Fereidoun (Feri) Farassat, NASA Langley Research Center
  • Wilson Felder, FAA
  • Alon Gany, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
  • William Gerstenmaier, NASA
  • Eveline Gottzein, Astrium GmbH
  • Stamatios Krimigis, Johns Hopkins Univ./Appl. Physics Lab.
  • Charles Liang, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics
  • Christian Mari, Teuchos
  • Laura McGill, Raytheon Missile Systems
  • Robert Ormiston, U.S. Army Research and Engr. Command
  • Daniel Raymer, Conceptual Research Corporation
  • Joseph William Rich, Ohio State University
  • Wayne Solomon, University of Illinois-Urbana
  • Richard Stephens, The Boeing Company
  • Joseph Guy Thibodaux, Ramec Associates
  • Firdaus Udwadia, University of Southern California
  • William Vaughan, University of Alabama-Huntsville
  • John Young, DoD Dept. of Research and Engineering

AIAA advances the state of aerospace science, engineering, and technological leadership. Headquartered in suburban Washington, D.C., the Institute serves over 35,000 members in 65 regional sections and 79 countries. AIAA membership is drawn from all levels of industry, academia, private research organizations, and government. For more information, visit http://www.aiaa.org.

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500
Reston, VA 20191-4344
Phone: 703/264-7532 Fax: 703/264-7551