Teacher Liaisons are a vital component in linking the Space Foundation, NASA, schools and school districts to improve space and science education. This year, the Space Foundation has selected 81 outstanding educators from 26 states and Germany for the 2006 class of Teacher Liaisons. They will be recognized April 3 during the Opening Ceremony of the 22nd National Space Symposium, which takes place April 3-6 at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs.

Throughout the year, Teacher Liaisons are responsible for actively supporting and incorporating space science activities into their curriculum, organizing tours of the Space Foundation and the NASA Education Resource Center for teacher groups, and participating in Space Foundation education programs. Teacher Liaisons take part in these and other activities to expand their own space science knowledge base and to enhance the learning experience of students.

The Space Foundation supports Teacher Liaisons by providing various privileges. The selected educators gain access to the National Space Symposium and receive nationwide recognition as advocates in promoting space and science in their schools. Liaisons are also given the opportunity to participate in specialized training, instruction, and cutting-edge space science teaching materials, lesson plans, and activity manuals distributed during workshops conducted by the Space Foundation and the National Aeronautics and Space Association (NASA).

The 2006 Teacher Liaisons are Sarah Allen, Nicole Betts, Russ Billings, Terry Bramschreiber, Gene Bush, Nerio Calgaro, Carla Callahan, Brendan Casey, Sukassa Chapman, Carol Clark, Larry Cohbra, Linda Copeland, Susan Corrigan, Brian Cox, Jennifer Cramer, Lois Douglas, W. Jayson Duncan, Stacey Jo Fancher, Kent Franklin, Linda Gardner, Misty Garland, Thomas Gillespie, Tamara Glickman, Eileen Bross Grzybowski, Diane Haggard, Myrna Hall, Julie Hamilton, Kelli Hamilton, Geraldine Haracz, Colleen Howard, Kenneth Huff, Mohsen Janatpour, Sheree’ Kearns, Martin Kelsey, Beverly Ketron, Amy Kline, Timothy Krupica, Carla Lam, Rachel Leaf, Terri McManus, Brian Patrick McNelly, Tracy Mackey, Kalman Mannis, Sandra Lee Morales, Judy Moore, Cyndy Moriarty, Andrew Neely, Cathy Oates-Bockenstedt, Vicki Lynn O’Neal, Anthonette Pena, Jason Petula, Diana Prazma, Zamaria Dijana Rocio, Chantelle Marie Rose, Teresa Rowe, Erik Russell, Gail Sanchez, JoAnn Schapp, Judith Schieble, Monica Schmidt, Michael Brenden Simoneaux, Jeffrey James Smith, William Smith, Vivian Smithwick, Jeaneen Stadjuhar, Mary Stander, Darryl Stanford, Cynthia Diane Thorpe, Jean Trusedell, Abigail Urish, Amelia Margiree Vandehey, Lois Vavra, Michael Waiksnis, Maria Walls, Kelly Ann Wardlaw, Christine Watroba, Beverly Willis, Dawn Wingate, M. Elaine Young, Heather Zimmerman, and Andra Lynn Zoller.

The 54 Teacher Liaisons of the 2005 class, who represent 23 states, will transition to alumni status, joining the 30 educators of the 2004 class. For more information on this year’s Teacher Liaisons, please visit http://education.spacefoundation.org/liaison/index.shtml.

In addition to the Teacher Liaison program, the Space Foundation fosters educational space endeavors by managing the on-site NASA Educational Resource Center; offering two distinct Master’s in Space Studies Degrees in conjunction with the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs and Regis University; providing the Lucy Enos Memorial Scholarship for Teachers; training teachers through Summer Institute graduate courses and national conferences; implementing the revolutionary Integrated Science Literacy Model; annually conducting the Space Career Fair; and offering a free online lesson bank for educators.

An updated program agenda, exhibitor list, and a complete list of sponsors for the 22nd National Space Symposium can be found at www.NationalSpaceSymposium.org.

About the Space Foundation

Founded in 1983 and headquartered in Colorado Springs, the Space Foundation is a national nonprofit organization that vigorously advances civil, commercial, and national security space endeavors and educational excellence. The Space Foundation has offices in Washington, D.C., and Cape Canaveral, Fla. In addition to the National Space Symposium, the Space Foundation annually conducts, along with its partnering organizations, Inside Aerospace, April 24-25, 2006; Strategic Space and Defense, 10-12 Oct. 2006, in Omaha, Neb.; and Florida Space, Dec. 5-7, 2006, in Orlando, Fla. For more information, visit www.SpaceFoundation.org.